Kennedy Smith Chair

Douglas Farrow, Kennedy Smith Chair

Douglas Farrow,
Current Kennedy Smith Chair

The Kennedy Smith Chair of Catholic Studies was formally established in April 2000.  Its purpose is to support and promote the Catholic Studies program at McGill through teaching, research, and service to the university and community, and to collaborate with the work of the Newman Institute of Catholic Studies.  Appointments to the chair normally serve on a 2 or 3 year rotation, with the possibility of renewals.

David Williams, Professor of English, was the first Kennedy Smith Chair (2000-2002). He was succeeded by Christophe Potworowski, who came to McGill from the Newman Theological College (Edmonton, Alberta) and held the chair until 2012. The current chair holder, Douglas Farrow, Professor of Christian Thought in the Faculty of Religious Studies, was appointed in 2013.

For more information on  Prof. Farrow’s courses, research interests and publications, see his McGill Webpage.

Audio Podcast for 2014 Kennedy Smith Inaugural Lecture

Professor Douglas Farrow,  Catholics and the ‘Neutral’ State, Jan 22, 2014, Newman Centre, McGill University;  with responses by Christopher Manfredi, Dean of Arts (McGill), and Bishop Thomas Dowd, Archdiocese of Montreal.


More on the History of the Kennedy Smith Chair

For articles on the establishment of the  Kennedy Smith Chair and its contribution to the Catholic Studies program: